Former senior police officer David Walton is one of only three Liberal Councillors seeking re-election.

Of the five Liberal Councillors currently serving on Council, only Cr David Walton, Cr Rory Amon and Cr Stuart Sprott are seeking re-election. Cr Kylie Ferguson and Cr Pat Daley OAM are both standing aside to allow fresh talent to stand for the Liberals.

Cr Walton who is standing again in the Curl Curl ward, believes the community is owed the efficiencies that were promised by the amalgamation.

“It has been five years since the amalgamation of the three former councils. The economies of scale, synergies and the savings from the merger have not been fully achieved, mostly because of decisions of Councillors to pursue costly and wasteful exercises, including the replacement of the garbage bins for $13.7m,” said Cr Walton.

Despite noting some quick wins, such as overturning decisions made by the administrator preventing dog access to parks, Cr Walton said much remains to be done.

“There’s still work to be done in relation to getting the structure right, getting the systems right, getting the accountabilities right. If you put decision making power in the hands of frontline staff, they’ll make better decisions. We need to flatten the structure of the council bureaucracy. It’ll be cheaper and it’ll make better decisions. Changing the culture, everything that we do in council should talk about what’s in the best interests of the community, rather than what’s the easiest for us,” said Cr Walton.

With long serving Pittwater Councillor Kylie Ferguson standing down at this election, Cr Rory Amon is moving north to contest the Pittwater ward, while newcomer Bianca Crvelin leads the Liberal ticket for Narrabeen.

Cr Pat Daley, who has served on Manly, Warringah and now Northern Beaches Council, announced last November he would not contest a position at this election. He is making way for Georgia Ryburn to contest the Manly ward for the Liberals. A new mother, Ms Ryburn was the subject of a false smear campaign that is understood to now be under investigation by NSW Police and the NSW Electoral Commission.

Although the Northern Beaches is held by the Liberals at the state level, they are in minority on Council. They are aiming to dislodge the current administration dominated by the Your Northern Beaches Independent Team (YNBIT).

With an injection of fresh blood into their ranks, the Liberals are hoping they can convince residents to vote for change and dislodge Michael Regan from the mayoral office.

The Liberals policy platform is they will contain rate rises, improve delivery of core services, cut red tape and eliminate wasteful spending.

The Liberal ward tickets are:

  • Curl Curl – Group D: David Walton, Lee Furlong and Vicky McGahey
  • Frenchs Forest – Group A: Stuart Sprott, David Lovell and Marcus Middleton
  • Manly – Group A: Georgia Ryburn, Bill Calcraft and Isabella Anderson
  • Narrabeen – Group D: Bianca Crvelin, Jonathon Flegg and Sarah Halnan
  • Pittwater – Group C: Rory Amon, Karina Page and Philip Longley

Voting at pre-poll locations is available 9.00am – 5.00pm until Friday, 03 December. Election Day is Saturday, 04 December.

Images: Northern Beaches Advocate

Become a supporter

Support the Advocate

If you have the capacity to help community journalism and keep the news free, we invite you to show your support for reliable, local news.